Teen Knowledge Test
Parents, Test Their Knowledge – and Yours Too!
Take the following quizzes (source: Cyber Drive Illinois) with your teen to see how well you both know the rules of the road and how to handle a vehicle. Discuss the answers together afterward and talk about any questions that may arise.
1. Traffic crashes are the third-leading cause of death among young people ages 15-20.
2. Safe drivers are rewarded with lower premiums and high-risk drivers pay a greater share of insurance costs.
3. Illinois' GDL Program requires parents to spend 50 hours of practice driving, including 10 hours at night, with their teenagers behind the wheel.
4. A parent/legal guardian may withdraw consent for their teen to drive at any time prior to the teen's 18th birthday.
5. It is a crime to provide alcohol to a person under age 21 or to allow underage consumption at your home.
6. During the first six months of licensing, or until the driver turns age 18, the number of passengers is limited to the number of safety belts in the vehicle.
7. Your teen must remain traffic conviction-free to graduate through the licensing phases of the GDL Program.
8. Drivers under age 18 are subject to nighttime driving restrictions of 10 p.m.-6 a.m. on weekdays and 11 p.m.-6 a.m. on weekends.
9. A driver under age 18 ticketed for a traffic violation must appear before a judge with a parent/guardian in order to receive court supervision.
10. A parent/guardian of a driver under age 18 may access the teen's driving record free online.
1. False – Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death among young people ages 15-20.
6. False – For the first 12 months, drivers under 18 are limited to one unrelated passenger under age 20.
1. Driving is considered a right rather than a privilege.
2. Cell phone use while driving is against the law for drivers under age 19.
3. Teenagers under age 18 are subject to nighttime driving restrictions of 11 p.m.-6 a.m. on weekdays and 12 p.m.-6 a.m. on weekends.
4. Every 15 minutes a teenager dies in an alcohol-related crash in the United States.
5. A teen driver is only allowed one traffic conviction per licensing phase in order to move to the next phase.
6. A teen driver and all passengers must wear safety belts.
7. Any teen caught driving without an instruction permit prior to or during the permit driving phase will be ineligible to obtain a driver's license until age 18.
8. For the first 12 months of licensing, or until a teen driver turns 18, the number of unrelated passengers is limited to one person under age 20.
9. Drivers under age 21 caught driving with any trace of alcohol or drugs in their systems will lose their driver's licenses.
10. A conviction of two traffic violations in a 24- month period results in a minimum one month driver's license suspension.
1. False - Driving is a privilege not a right.
3. False - Nighttime driving restrictions for drivers under age 18 are Sun.- Thurs., 10 p.m.-6a.m.; Fri.-Sat., 11p.m.-6 a.m.
5. False -Must remain traffic conviction free to graduate to the next licensing level.