Teen Safety Resources
At Kurt's Autobody, we understand how hard it is for both parents and teenagers when the "driving years" begin. Parents are concerned for teenagers' safety and teens want to experience the new freedom that comes with driving. To make this transition as easy as possible, Kurt's Autobody offers parents support and teenagers education on safe driving, in the hopes of clarifying information and preventing anxiety.
To help keep you current on the latest in teen driving, here is a quick run-down of the basics. You can also visit the DMV for information on Illinois state-sponsored drivers' education programs and current laws pertaining to teen driving.
- Driving permits are available to teens starting at age 15, provided they have parental permission, pass a written road test and a vision test, and are enrolled in a driver's education course at the time of application.
- Parental consent is required for a 16-year old to obtain a driver's license.
- To obtain a license, parents must verify their teen has had a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel practice with at least 10 hours being driven at night.
- For the first 12 months of a person's license or until the driver is 18, whichever occurs first, the number of passengers in the vehicle is limited to one under the age of 20, unless the person is a sibling, step-sibling, child, step-child, etc.
* Please note this information is only a brief summary of current driving laws in effect in the State of Illinois and may not reflect the most recent updates/changes to the law. Please see the Illinois Department of Motor Vehicles for the most up-to-date information.
Teen Driving Facts
For more information about the risks, responsibilities and rules surroundings teenage driving, check out the links below.